On the Way of St. James


Rúa Areal, esquina Oporto 2 42

36201  Vigo - Pontevedra

42º 14' 19.9" N - 8º 42' 59.9" W


Building designed in 1911 by Jenaro de la Fuente Domínguez. It was built by the Vigo builder, Antonio González Romero, for the Porriño-born Manuel Rodríguez Rodríguez, who had emigrated to Ecuador, and his wife Angelica Bonin. The initial project envisaged 10 houses, but the death of the owner meant that not all could be completed. This project is eclectic and the most splendid that the city can boast due to its volume and excessively ornate decoration. Among its ornaments we may find: the head of a lion whose brilliant, expressive eyes serve as an example of the expertise of Vigo stonework; pediments framed by arches and richly decorated with plant motifs and volutes; continuous balconies framed by Ionic and Corinthian columns; richly decorated corbels, etc. The building material is fine-grain stone of the highest quality, which received a special treatment akin to polishing.

The Ways of St. James

Portiguese Route by coast
Help us improve!