The Natural Monument classification strives to highlight the rarity or beauty of areas or of natural elements (geological formations, paleontological sites…).

To prevent the endangering of the preservation of their values, only respectful uses and activities are authorised.

This is the case of the seven natural monuments located in Galicia: Praia das Catedrais, Carballa da Rocha, Costa de Dexo, Fraga de Catasós, Pena Corneira, Souto da Retorta and Souto de Rozavales.